Shell Island Inflatable Park Tour: The Privateer Catamaran Trip
This Shell Island inflatable park tour runs 3 hours on the Privateer, a catamaran that carries up to 78 guests from a dock behind The Bayside Resort in Panama City Beach. The boat sails through the Grand Lagoon to a play area off Shell Island where you get an inflatable park with trampolines and water slides, plus kayaks, paddle boards and snorkeling with gear included. The trip ends with a dolphin search in the Gulf of Mexico. This page sets out the real cost once the Viator extra charge is counted, the check-in routine, what the boat has and who should book a different trip. Compare it with the other Shell Island dolphin tours.
About This Tour
Paradise Adventures runs this trip on the Privateer, a catamaran licensed for up to 78 guests. The listing prices it from $70.55 per person and Viator shows an extra charge of $10 per person at checkout, which gives $80.55. The listing does not say what that extra covers. The 3-hour trip has three parts: a sail through the Grand Lagoon, a stop at a private play area off Shell Island with an inflatable water park, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkeling, and a dolphin search in the Gulf of Mexico at the end.
The operator sells it as an adventure cruise for all fitness levels, with a restroom on board and a bar that takes cards only. Children must be with an adult and the drinking age on board is 21. You can bring food but no outside drinks.
$70.55 per person on the listing. Viator adds $10 per person at checkout, giving $80.55. The listing does not say what the extra covers.
3 hours. Arrive 40 minutes before trip time.
Behind The Bayside Resort, 4114 Jan Cooley Dr, Panama City, FL 32408. Park at the resort, walk around the right side, check in at the kiosk, then a 5 to 7 minute walk down the dock.
Yes, the boat stops at a private play area off the island. The listing states no minutes for the stop and no set time on the beach itself.
Catamaran, the Privateer, up to 78 guests. Snorkel gear, kayaks, paddle boards and the inflatable park are included.
Full refund if you cancel at least 24 hours before departure. Weather cancellations come with a choice of another date or a full refund.
Check Dates and Availability
The listing sells one option, the Adventure Tour Privateer, running 3 hours. Check the calendar for departure times on your date.
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Quick answer Cost, length and who it suits
This Shell Island inflatable park tour lists at $70.55 per person, and Viator adds $10 per person at checkout for $80.55. The trip runs 3 hours on a catamaran for up to 78 guests, with an inflatable park, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear included off Shell Island, then a dolphin search in the Gulf.
Key takeaways
- See the full price breakdown and the unexplained $10 checkout charge in what the price covers.
- Want a stated stretch on the island? The pick is Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Cruise at $52.43 with about an hour on the island.
- Check the stage-by-stage plan in how the trip runs.
- Compare every Shell Island dolphin tour on the Shell Island dolphin tours.
What the Price Covers
The listing and the operator's own pages do not fully agree, so this section gives both sides and tells you what to confirm before you pay.
Included on the Trip
All activities and use of equipment are included per the listing. That covers kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling with gear, and the inflatable water park with trampolines, water slides and a seesaw ball. The listing also lists a restroom on board. The crew are a captain and crew, the guide language is English, and the tour suits all fitness levels.
The operator's own site describes the trip as all-inclusive with no additional charge for activities and inflatables. Viator nevertheless shows an extra charge of $10 per person on top of the $70.55 from price, giving $80.55, and neither source explains what it covers. Ask the operator or the platform what the $10 is for before you book. Do not treat the $80.55 figure as the operator's own price, it is the listing total as shown at checkout.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Inflatable water park | Yes | Trampolines, water slides and a seesaw ball |
| Kayaks and paddle boards | Yes | Included, the operator describes unlimited use |
| Snorkel gear | Yes | All activities and equipment included |
| Viator extra charge | No | $10 per person at checkout, purpose not stated, total $80.55 |
| Infants aged 2 and under | No | Fee of $15 to $20 plus local tax |
| Drinks | No | Sold on board, bar takes debit or credit cards only |
| Snacks | No | Chips sold on board, you may bring food but no outside beverages |
| Gratuities | No | 20% added automatically for parties of 20 or more |
| Hotel pickup and drop-off | No | Not offered |
| Restroom | Yes | On board |
The Fee at Checkout
The $10 per person charge appears on the Viator listing on top of the $70.55 from price. The operator says on its own site that activities and inflatables are all included. The two statements can both be true if the charge covers something else, but the listing does not say what.
Check the itemized total at checkout and question any line you cannot identify. If you want a simpler price, the Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Tour leaves the same dock from $49 per person with no extra charge stated.
Source: Viator listing and Paradise Adventures adventure tour page.
How the Trip Runs
The listing lays out three stages across the 3 hours. Clock times are not printed, so the table uses phases. Arrive 40 minutes before trip time to check in.
Check-in at the Resort Dock
Park at The Bayside Resort, walk around the right side of the building and check in at the kiosk. From there it is a 5 to 7 minute walk down the dock to the catamaran. The operator's own site asks guests to arrive 45 minutes ahead and warns that anyone not checked in 10 minutes before departure can lose the seat to the waiting list with no refund.
The listing says 40 minutes. Arrive early enough to satisfy both.
Sail, Play Area and Dolphin Search
The boat sails through the Grand Lagoon to a private playground area off Shell Island. There you use the inflatable park, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkel gear. The listing puts the dolphin search at the end of the tour in the Gulf of Mexico.
The operator's own page instead describes dolphin watching through the Grand Lagoon on the way out and sightseeing with dolphins on the way back. The order can vary by day, so treat the table as the listing's version and ask the crew on board. The listing states no minutes for the Shell Island stop and no return time.
| Stage | Where | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Check-in | Bayside Resort kiosk, then the dock | Arrive 40 minutes before trip time |
| Board and sail | Grand Lagoon | Not stated |
| Play stop | Inflatable park, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkeling off Shell Island | Not stated |
| Dolphin search | Gulf of Mexico | End of the tour |
| Return | Same dock in Panama City Beach | Not stated |
Who This Trip Rules Out
The listing sets clear limits. If one of these is you, book a different trip from the same coast.
Travelers Who Need a Crowd-free Boat
Up to 78 guests is the largest capacity among the trips on this site. If you want fewer people, the Small Group Shell Island Dolphin and Snorkel Tour takes up to 6 guests at $49 per person, and the Shell Island Dolphin Sightseeing Pontoon Tour takes up to 18 at $35.
Travelers Who Need Guaranteed Minutes on the Beach
The listing confirms an island landing but states no time on the island, and the stop is a play area off Shell Island rather than a beach stop. If you want a stated stretch on the sand, the Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Cruise gives about 1 hour on the island with a 4.9 rating from 5,074 reviews.
Wheelchair Users and Small Children
Portions of the tour are not wheelchair accessible. Collapsible wheelchairs work only if the guest can manage the 2 to 3 boarding steps alone or with help from their party. Children aged 3 to 12 must be accompanied by an adult, infants aged 2 and under pay a fee of $15 to $20 plus local tax, and the drinking age on board is 21.
Anyone Avoiding an Unexplained Extra
The $10 per person Viator charge is not explained in the listing, and 20% gratuity is added automatically for parties of 20 or more. A big family group should budget for both before booking.
Dock, Dolphins and What to Bring
Practical facts for the day: the dock and parking, what the island lacks, the federal rules on wild dolphins and the weather.
Getting to the Dock
The boat leaves from behind The Bayside Resort at 4114 Jan Cooley Dr, Panama City, FL 32408. Park at the resort, walk around the right side and check in at the kiosk, then walk 5 to 7 minutes down the dock. The listing sets a casual dress code with no high heels, sensible given the walk and the water park.
What the Island Lacks
Shell Island is about seven miles of undeveloped coast with no concession stands, restrooms, picnic pavilions, trash cans or running water. This trip keeps its facilities on the boat, which is why the restroom on board matters. Take everything you bring back with you.
For the island itself, see the Shell Island guide.
The Rules on Wild Dolphins
The dolphins here are bottlenose dolphins and a pod lives around Shell Island. They are wild, and sightings vary on every trip. NOAA Fisheries recommends staying at least 50 yards (150 feet) away, limiting viewing to 30 minutes or less, and never feeding or harassing them.
Harassment is illegal under the Marine Mammal Protection Act, with civil penalties up to $36,498 and possible criminal fines plus up to 1 year in prison. NOAA also asks people not to swim with wild dolphins even if the animals approach. Paradise Adventures states that swimming or snorkeling with dolphins is not part of its tours.
More detail is in the dolphin rules on the homepage.
Weather and What to Bring
The operator says red flags do not affect its tours because they run in St. Andrews Bay, where conditions are often calmer than the Gulf. If the tour is canceled for poor weather you get notice and a choice of another date or a full refund. Summer is the best season for snorkeling, with Gulf water averaging 80-84°F from June through September, and summer showers in Panama City Beach usually pass in 15 to 20 minutes.
The Atlantic hurricane season runs June 1 to November 30, peaking around September 10. The listing sets a casual dress code with no high heels. Pack food, since only snacks and chips are sold on board.
Snorkel conditions around Panama City Beach are covered in the snorkeling guide.
Sources: Visit Panama City Beach on Shell Island, NOAA viewing guidelines, BeachGuide weather, Capt. Anderson's what to bring.
Hour by Hour
The listing does not print departure or return clock times, so the stages below use its own sequence across the 3 hours.
-
Check-in
Kiosk at The Bayside Resort
Arrive 40 minutes before trip time. Park at the resort, check in at the kiosk on the right side of the building, then walk 5 to 7 minutes down the dock to the Privateer.
-
Sail
Grand Lagoon
The catamaran sails through the Grand Lagoon toward the island. The operator describes dolphin watching on this leg, while the listing puts the search at the end.
-
Play stop
Inflatable park off Shell Island
At the private playground area you get the inflatable park with trampolines, water slides and a seesaw ball, plus kayaks, paddle boards and snorkeling. All gear is included. The listing states no minutes for this stop.
-
Food and bar
On board
Food can be brought aboard but no outside beverages. Drinks and chips are sold on board and the bar takes debit or credit cards only.
-
Dolphin search
Gulf of Mexico
The last part of the trip goes into the Gulf to look for dolphins. Sightings are never guaranteed.
-
Return
Same dock
The boat returns to the dock behind The Bayside Resort. The listing states no return time.
What Works and What Does Not
An honest read of the listing, including the parts other pages leave out.
What we genuinely like
- The only listing on this site with a floating inflatable water park, with trampolines, water slides and a seesaw ball
- Kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel gear and the park are all included in one price
- 4.7 rating from 581 verified reviews
- Restroom on board, which matters because Shell Island has none
- Free cancellation 24 hours ahead and a weather refund choice of another date or full refund
The honest downsides
- Viator adds $10 per person at checkout on top of $70.55 and the listing does not say what it covers, so the real per person figure is $80.55
- Up to 78 guests, the largest group among the trips on this site
- No stated minutes at the island and the stop is a play area, not a beach stop
- The listing and the operator disagree on whether dolphins come at the end or throughout the trip
- Drinks are not included and the bar takes cards only, with 20% gratuity added automatically for parties of 20 or more
Who it's NOT for: Travelers who want a small boat, a stated hour on the island sand or a price with no unexplained checkout charge should book the Island Time or Footloose catamaran instead.
Questions About This Trip
Is the inflatable park only on this tour?
The operator calls it the only inflatable water park on Shell Island, and no other listing on this site includes one. Every other trip, such as the Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Cruise, trades the park for a quieter boat.
How much does it really cost per person?
The listing shows $70.55 per person and Viator adds a $10 per person charge at checkout, giving $80.55. The listing does not say what the charge covers, so see what the price covers and ask before you pay.
Is the inflatable park in rough water?
The operator says it sets the inflatables up on the St. Andrews Bay side, away from Gulf rough water, and that red flags do not affect its tours because the boats run in the bay. The weather rules are in dock, dolphins and what to bring.
When should I arrive at the dock?
The listing says arrive 40 minutes before trip time, and the operator's own page says 45 minutes with a warning that late arrivals can lose seats to the waiting list. Aim for the earlier figure and read the check-in steps in how the trip runs.
Can I bring food and drinks?
Yes to food, no to drinks. The listing allows food aboard but no outside beverages, and the bar sells drinks and chips on a cards-only basis. See what the price covers for the full list.
Is the boat wheelchair accessible?
Only in part. Portions of the tour are not wheelchair accessible, and collapsible wheelchairs work only if the guest can board via 2 to 3 steps alone or with help. Contact the operator before booking, as described in who this trip rules out.
Will I see dolphins?
Not guaranteed. The animals are wild bottlenose dolphins and sightings vary on every trip, so the captain and crew search at the end in the Gulf. The NOAA viewing rules are set out in dock, dolphins and what to bring.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure